Cursor vs Codex: plans, prices and measured usage

Pick Cursor for one editor that runs several makers' models, Claude and Gemini included; pick Codex if you already pay for ChatGPT or want OpenAI's GPT-6 models, which Cursor's price list does not carry. Cursor's paid plans run from $8 to $200 a month, with GPT models billed per token on top; ChatGPT Plus with Codex is $20. Codex's extension runs inside Cursor. Cursor prices read 20 October 2026, Codex's 10 October.

Dmitriy Solodukha · checked against Caprock v0.96.0

the cheapest paid plan of each
$8 / $8
the cheapest paid plan of each
Cursor Plus (Grok only) or ChatGPT Go (desktop app, subject to rollout)
a median Codex call at API rates
$0.032
a median Codex call at API rates
16,415 calls, mostly 10–28 Sep 2026 · Caprock does not read Cursor
ChatGPT Pro's top tier, a month
$500
ChatGPT Pro's top tier, a month
Pro is $100, $200 or $500
per million tokens on GPT models, Cursor Teams and Enterprise
+$0.25
per million tokens on GPT models, Cursor Teams and Enterprise

Caprock reads Codex, not Cursor's agent. Every Cursor figure here is a published price; the Codex figures are one machine's Codex calls at OpenAI's list prices, read 3 October 2026.

The short answer

Pick Cursor or Codex

Pick Cursor if…

  • You want one editor that runs several makers' models: Anthropic, OpenAI and Google, plus Cursor's own pool of Grok and Composer.
  • You work mostly in Cursor's own models: every paid plan includes a weekly pool for Grok and Composer.
  • You want a cheap editor agent: Plus at $8 a month runs Grok and Composer only.

Pick Codex if…

  • You already pay for ChatGPT: Plus at $20 includes Codex on the web, in the CLI, the IDE extension and on iOS.
  • You want OpenAI's GPT-6 models: Codex runs GPT-6 Astra, Sol and Luna; Cursor's price list stops at GPT-5.6.
  • You want a heavy plan with no five-hour window: ChatGPT Pro has none, at $100, $200 or $500 a month.

Facts about price, limits and where each runs, read 10 and 20 October 2026. Not a verdict on which writes better code.

Both at once

Codex inside Cursor: who bills what

Run Cursor as the editor and Codex in its extension, and each part goes to a different bill.

Where each part of the bill goes, read 10 and 20 October 2026
What you run in CursorBilled toDraws on
Cursor's agent, on Grok or ComposerCursor planThe weekly pool, then prepaid credit
Cursor's agent, on a GPT modelCursor, at API list pricePrepaid credit, from the first request
Codex extension, ChatGPT sign-inChatGPT planCodex's plan limits
Codex extension, API keyOpenAI, per tokenYour API account
Cursor Teams and Enterprise add $0.25 per million tokens when Cursor's agent runs a GPT model.

Side by side

Cursor vs Codex, side by side

Cursor and Codex, from each one's documentation, read 10 and 20 October 2026
CursorCodex
Made byAnysphereOpenAI
What it isAn editor with an agent built inAn agent in ChatGPT plans
Where it runsEditor, CLI, cloud agents in VMsCLI, IDE extension, web, desktop, iOS
ModelsAnthropic, OpenAI, Google; Grok, ComposerOpenAI's GPT models
Open sourceNoThe CLI, Apache-2.0
Cheapest way inFree; Plus, $8 a month, Grok models onlyChatGPT Plus, $20 a month
BilledWeekly pool for its own models; others per tokenPlan fee in usage limits, or per token
InstallDownload; CLI by install scriptnpm, Homebrew, install script
Read by CaprockNoYes, every session
Own API keyChat models only, not Tab; Cursor's docs list it from Premium upYes, billed per token
Inside the other—Yes, as an extension in Cursor

Plans, per month

Cursor pricing vs Codex pricing

Monthly price of each plan on one axis. Team plans are per user.

Cursor

  • Cursor Free$0limited; no third-party models
  • Cursor Plus$8own models only, no GPT
  • Cursor Premium$304× Plus; GPT at API price
  • Teams, a seat$30$30, $100 or $200 a seat
  • Cursor Super$10015× Plus
  • Cursor Ultra$20050× Plus
  • Enterprise — on request

Codex

  • ChatGPT Free$0desktop app
  • ChatGPT Go$8desktop app
  • ChatGPT Plus$20web, CLI, IDE, iOS
  • Business, a user$25$20 billed annually; 2+ users
  • ChatGPT Pro$100Pro 100; no five-hour limit
  • ChatGPT Pro$200Pro 200; more usage than Pro 100
  • ChatGPT Pro$500Pro 500; adds Ultrafast
  • Enterprise — not published

Both columns share one axis, $0 to $500 a month. Cursor read 20 October 2026 from cursor.com/pricing, Codex 10 October from OpenAI's Codex pricing page. Each Cursor plan includes a weekly pool for Cursor's own models, not stated in dollars; GPT models bill per token on top. Cursor's Pro ($20), Pro+ ($60) and $40 and $120 Teams seats are legacy plans, not sold to new customers. Codex on ChatGPT Free and Go is subject to rollout.

Usage limits

Usage limits: a weekly pool against a five-hour window

How Cursor and Codex cap use, read 10 and 20 October 2026
CursorCodex
How usage is cappedA weekly pool for Cursor's own modelsFive hours on Plus, Business; none on Pro
Size publishedNot in dollarsEstimated messages, by model
Weekly limitThe pool refreshes weeklyMay also apply
Past the limitPrepaid credit, or wait for the resetCredits, or an API key
GPT models draw onPrepaid credit, at API list priceThe plan's Codex allowance
Cursor's pool covers Grok and Composer only; on Premium and above, GPT models bill at API list price from the first request. OpenAI calls its per-plan figures estimates that “are not fixed message limits”.

Per million tokens

What GPT models cost in each

Per million tokens, OpenAI's list. Where Cursor lists a model, its price matches.

GPT model prices per million tokens, read 10 and 20 October 2026
ModelInputCache readOutput
GPT-6 AstraCodex; not in Cursor's list$10$1$50
GPT-6.1 SolCodex; not in Cursor's list$2$0.10$10
GPT-6 SolCodex; not in Cursor's list$2$0.20$10
GPT-6 LunaCodex; not in Cursor's list$0.10$0.01$0.50
GPT-5.6 Solboth; OpenAI's promotional price, at least through 21 Nov 2026$4$0.40$20
GPT-5.6 Terraboth$2$0.20$12
GPT-5.6 Lunaboth$0.20$0.02$1.20
Read 10 October 2026 from OpenAI's API pricing page; Cursor's models and pricing page, with every model shown, re-read 20 October. OpenAI's rates are for input up to 272K tokens; above it input costs double and output 1.5×. Cursor Teams and Enterprise add $0.25 per million tokens on third-party models. On a ChatGPT plan, Codex's calls come out of the plan's limits, not these rates.

Measured · read 3 October 2026

The Codex side, measured

Caprock reads Codex's transcripts, not Cursor's agent. These are one machine's Codex calls at OpenAI's list prices; the Cursor column stays empty.

Cursor
Not measured — Caprock does not read Cursor.
Codex
16,415 calls, mostly 10–28 Sep 2026a third on Luna models

Median cost per call

  • CursorCaprock does not read Cursornot measured
  • Codexmostly 10–28 Sep 2026$0.032
A call is one request to the model; a turn that runs five tools makes several. A third of these ran Codex's Luna models.

Median context per call

  • CursorCaprock does not read Cursornot measured
  • Codexmostly 10–28 Sep 2026128K
Tokens of conversation each call re-sends. Cursor's agent builds its own context, so its calls will not match these.

Where the money went

  • CursorCaprock does not read Cursor
  • Codexmostly 10–28 Sep 2026
ShareCodex
Cache read73%
Cache writenone recorded
Fresh input17%
Output≈10%
Share of the list-price cost. Codex's record carries no cache writes; its output share is the remainder.

Cache hit

  • CursorCaprock does not read Cursornot measured
  • Codexmostly 10–28 Sep 202697.6%
Share of input read from the cache: almost every call re-read the conversation from it.

What the tool calls were

  • CursorCaprock does not read Cursor
  • Codexmostly 10–28 Sep 2026
ShareCodex
Shell (exec)81%
Everything else19%
Share of Codex's tool calls.

Your own machine

See your Codex side.

Caprock is a free, open-source desktop app that keeps the ledger of every agent it reads, Codex, Claude Code, OpenCode and Gemini CLI, the sessions you start in your own terminal included: who is waiting on you, who is stuck, how close each plan is to its limit, and each pull request with what it cost, every Codex call at OpenAI's list prices. It does not read Cursor. Local; no account.

Download for Mac

Notarized by Apple. One file for Apple silicon and Intel, macOS 13 or later.

Or run it yourself:

curl -fsSL https://caprock.dev/mac.sh | sh

Paste in Terminal: it installs Caprock and opens it.Or with Homebrew: brew install --cask dspv/tap/caprock-app

The full guide

Cursor vs Codex, step by step

Cursor is an editor with its own agent that runs models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and Cursor itself; Codex is OpenAI's agent, included in ChatGPT plans, and runs OpenAI's GPT models. Codex comes with ChatGPT Plus at $20 a month; Cursor's paid plans start at $8. You do not have to pick one: OpenAI's Codex extension installs in Cursor, and signed in with ChatGPT it draws on your ChatGPT plan, not on Cursor's usage.

Cursor vs Codex pricing

Cursor prices read on 20 October 2026 from cursor.com/pricing, Codex's on 10 October from OpenAI's Codex pricing.

  • Cursor: now sold through The X Subscription with Grok and X. Free has limited usage; Plus is $8 a month for Grok models only; Premium is $30, Super $100 and Ultra $200. Teams seats cost $30, $100 or $200 a user; Enterprise is priced on request. Pro ($20), Pro+ ($60) and the $40 and $120 Teams seats are legacy plans, closed to new customers.
  • Codex: ChatGPT Plus at $20 includes it on the web, in the CLI, the IDE extension and on iOS. ChatGPT Pro is $100, $200 or $500 a month; Business is $25 a user, or $20 billed annually, for two or more users. Free and Go include Codex in the desktop app, subject to rollout. Enterprise and Edu are priced by OpenAI's sales team.

What you get for the fee differs. Each paid Cursor plan includes a weekly pool for Cursor's own models, Grok and Composer: Premium four times Plus's, Super fifteen times, Ultra fifty. GPT models are in no plan's pool; on Premium and above they bill at OpenAI's list price from the first request. Cursor does not state the pool in dollars. A ChatGPT plan gives Codex usage limits instead, counted in messages.

Usage limits: a weekly pool against a five-hour window

Cursor's pool refreshes weekly. Past it you wait for the reset, continue on prepaid credit at each model's rates, or move to a bigger plan.

On Plus and Business, OpenAI publishes estimated local messages per five hours by model — 5 to 45 on GPT-6 Astra, 350 to 3,000 on GPT-6 Luna — and says these "are not fixed message limits". ChatGPT Pro has no five-hour limit, and weekly limits may also apply. Local and cloud work share one allowance. At the cap a running Codex turn may finish, subject to fair use, and you buy credits or switch to an API key.

What GPT models cost in each

Cursor's models and pricing page, read on 20 October 2026 with every model shown, lists GPT-5.6 Sol, Terra and Luna at OpenAI's own rates: $4, $2 and $0.20 per million input tokens, $20, $12 and $1.20 output. It lists older GPT-5 and GPT-5 Codex models too, and no GPT-6 model.

Codex runs those GPT-5.6 models and the GPT-6 line: GPT-6.1 Sol at $2 input and $10 output per million tokens, GPT-6 Astra at $10 and $50, GPT-6 Luna at $0.10 and $0.50. Above 272K input tokens OpenAI bills input at double and output at 1.5×. These are the rates Codex bills on an API key; on a ChatGPT plan, Codex's calls come out of the plan's limits.

On Cursor Teams and Enterprise, every GPT call by Cursor's agent also carries a Cursor Token Rate of $0.25 per million tokens.

Codex inside Cursor

OpenAI's Codex IDE extension installs in VS Code, Cursor and Windsurf; you open it from the Codex icon. So you can run both: Cursor's agent for quick edits on its own models, and Codex in a panel on a ChatGPT plan. Each part goes to its own bill — Cursor's agent to your Cursor plan, Codex to ChatGPT, or to OpenAI per token if you sign in with an API key.

The Codex side, measured

Caprock reads Codex's transcripts from disk and prices every call at OpenAI's list prices. It does not read Cursor's agent, so there is no Cursor column to set beside it.

Read on 3 October 2026: 16,415 Codex calls on one machine, most of them 10–28 September. A call is one request to the model — one token_count in Codex's transcript — so a turn that runs five tools is several calls. The median call cost $0.032 and re-sent 128K tokens of conversation; 97.6% of input came from the cache, and cache reads were 73% of the cost. A third of the calls ran Codex's Luna models, and 81% of tool calls were shell commands.

Cursor's agent builds its own context and picks its own models, so its calls will not match these one for one. One heavy user on one machine is not a benchmark; it is what the work cost, read the same way every time.

Which one to pick on cost

What differs is how use is counted. Cursor gives a weekly pool for its own models and bills GPT per token on top; Codex gives windows of estimated messages, and ChatGPT Pro removes the five-hour one. If you want several makers' models in one editor, or work mostly in Grok and Composer, Cursor Premium or Super fits. If you work in OpenAI's models all day, or want GPT-6, a ChatGPT plan with Codex does — and Codex runs inside Cursor if you want the editor too.

Cursor vs Claude Code and Codex vs Claude Code set each against Claude Code. The plans in full: Cursor pricing and Codex usage and cost.

See your Codex side

Inside Codex, /usage shows the account and /status the session; each sees only itself. Caprock reads every Codex session still on disk, whether or not it started it, and prices each call — per session, per repository, per model — a list-price estimate beside Codex's own windows. It does not read Cursor.

Free, open source; nothing leaves your machine. Install Caprock.

Questions people ask

Is Cursor cheaper than Codex?
Cursor Plus is $8 a month but runs Grok models only; Premium, at $30, adds GPT models billed per token on top. Codex comes with ChatGPT Plus at $20 and caps use in estimated messages per five hours; ChatGPT Pro has no five-hour limit.
Can I use Codex inside Cursor?
Yes. OpenAI's Codex IDE extension installs in Cursor. Signed in with ChatGPT, it draws on your ChatGPT plan, not on Cursor's included usage.
Does Cursor have GPT-6?
Not on 20 October 2026: Cursor's models and pricing page lists GPT-5.6 Sol, Terra and Luna and older GPT-5 models, and no GPT-6 model. Codex runs GPT-6 Astra, Sol and Luna.
How much do GPT models cost in Cursor?
The same as OpenAI's API list: GPT-5.6 Sol at $4 input and $20 output per million tokens. Cursor Teams and Enterprise add $0.25 per million tokens.
Can Caprock track Cursor usage?
No. Caprock reads Codex's transcripts, not Cursor's agent; it prices every Codex call at OpenAI's list prices.
Which is better, Cursor or Codex?
Neither across the board, and you can run both: Codex installs in Cursor. Cursor suits several makers' models in one editor; Codex suits OpenAI's models on a ChatGPT plan. This page compares price and limits, not code quality.

Sources