Codex usage limits: the 5-hour and weekly windows, by plan

Codex on ChatGPT Plus and Business has two limits: a window that resets every five hours and a weekly limit. ChatGPT Pro has no five-hour limit, only the week. OpenAI publishes estimated messages per five hours by model, not fixed counts; your live figure is /status or the usage dashboard (read 14 October 2026).

Dmitriy Solodukha · checked against Caprock v0.115.1

the short window on Plus and Business
5 hours
the short window on Plus and Business
back on Plus since 25 August 2026
five-hour limit on ChatGPT Pro
None
five-hour limit on ChatGPT Pro
$100, $200 or $500 a month
the weekly window, on both
7 days
the weekly window, on both
10,080 minutes in Codex's own record
the Pro weekly window, filled once
100%
the Pro weekly window, filled once
one machine, 22 September

How it works

The Codex 5-hour limit and the weekly limit

On Plus and Business every five-hour window also draws on the week. Pro has only the week. Local messages and cloud chats share one allowance.

ChatGPT Plus and Businessfive-hour windows inside a week
ChatGPT Prothe week only
One week, to scale: each blue block is five hours. Once the week is used up, a fresh five-hour window does not help.

By plan

Codex limits on ChatGPT Plus, Pro and Business

OpenAI's estimates for Plus and a standard Business seat, local messages per five hours. They depend on the model, the task's size and whether it runs locally or in the cloud.

Codex windows by ChatGPT plan, read 14 October 2026
PlanFive-hour windowWeekly limit
PlusYesMay apply
BusinessYesMay apply
ProNoneYes, in Codex's own record
Enterprise, EduNone on flexible pricing; else as PlusFlexible pricing scales with credits
Plus is $20 a month, Pro $100, $200 or $500, Business $20 a user billed annually or $25 monthly. Free and Go include Codex for quick and lightweight tasks; OpenAI publishes no window for them.
Estimated local messages per five hours, Plus and standard Business
ModelMessages
GPT-6 Astra5–45
GPT-6 Sol15–150
GPT-6.1 Sol15–160
GPT-6 Luna350–3,000
“These estimates are not fixed message limits.” Cloud tasks may use more of the allowance than local messages. Source: Codex pricing.

Measured · read 14 October 2026

What Codex actually recorded on one machine

Codex writes its windows into every session file. 94 of 220 transcripts on my machine carry them, across a move from Plus to Pro.

  • Pro, week100%22 September
  • Plus, five hours100%11 September
  • Plus, week40%highest reading
Highest reading of each window. Plus: 1,477 readings, 27 Aug – 18 Sep 2026. Pro: 15,828 readings, 18 Sep – 13 Oct 2026, every one of them with no five-hour window. The full track is the limit.
  • Plus: the five hours ran out first

    The five-hour window reached 100% while the week stood at 40% or less. On Plus the short window is the one you meet.
  • Pro: no five-hour window at all

    Codex records Pro as a single 10,080-minute window. With nothing to slow a long day down, the week filled four days after the switch.
Caprock's Plan limits panel: Codex's windows beside Claude's, as of the last thing Codex wrote. On Pro the five-hour row says “not reported by Codex”.

Check them

How to check your Codex usage limit

The usage dashboard shows current limits and reset times for the whole account; the CLI shows them in a session.

The usage dashboard

Every window, with the time it resets.

In the Codex CLI

  1. Remaining limits, in an active CLI session

  2. Token usage for a period, or redeem an earned reset

    Or daily, or cumulative.

  3. Rate limits in the footer, all the time

At the limit

What to do when you hit the Codex usage limit

  • Let the turn finish

    A turn already running may continue, subject to fair use.
  • Wait for the reset

    The dashboard shows when each window resets. If the week is spent, a new five-hour window does not help.
  • Redeem an earned reset

    /usage offers a menu to redeem one, if your account has one.
  • Buy credits or upgrade

    Credits keep you going on the same plan; Pro drops the five-hour window.
  • Switch to an API key

    Codex then bills your OpenAI Platform account per token, outside the plan's limits.
  • Carry on in another agent

    Caprock's Continue in… starts a new Claude Code, OpenCode or Gemini CLI session in the same folder with a summary you read first — or a Codex session on another of your accounts.

Claude's windows work the same way, published differently: Claude usage limits. What Codex costs per plan and per call: Codex usage and pricing.

Your own machine

See every Codex window next to Claude's.

Caprock is a free, open-source desktop app that runs Codex, Claude Code, OpenCode and Gemini CLI in terminal tabs. It reads Codex's windows from ~/.codex, keeps several Codex sign-ins side by side with their own windows, and says which agent has room when one is near its limit. Local; no account.

Download for Mac

Notarized by Apple. One file for Apple silicon and Intel, macOS 13 or later.

Or run it yourself:

curl -fsSL https://caprock.dev/mac.sh | sh

Paste in Terminal: it installs Caprock and opens it.Or with Homebrew: brew install --cask dspv/tap/caprock-app

The full guide

Codex usage limits, step by step

Codex on ChatGPT Plus and Business is limited twice: a window that resets every five hours, and a weekly limit on top of it. ChatGPT Pro has no five-hour limit, only the week. OpenAI publishes estimated messages per five hours by model, not a fixed number, so the figure that counts is your own: /status in the CLI, or the usage dashboard.

The Codex 5-hour limit

On Plus and a standard Business seat, OpenAI's pricing page gives estimated local messages per five hours by model, read on 14 October 2026: 5–45 on GPT-6 Astra, 15–150 on GPT-6 Sol, 15–160 on GPT-6.1 Sol and 350–3,000 on GPT-6 Luna. In its words, "these estimates are not fixed message limits": the count depends on the model, the size of the task and whether it runs locally or in the cloud, and "cloud tasks may use more of your allowance than local messages". Local messages and cloud chats share one allowance.

The window was off for several weeks this summer. On 25 August 2026 OpenAI turned it back on for Plus; Thibault Sottiaux, who leads Codex engineering, said it smooths the load on OpenAI's compute and stops casual users spending the whole week in one sitting. He also said the five-hour limit stays off for Pro at $100 and $200 "for the upcoming months".

The Codex weekly limit

"Weekly limits may also apply," OpenAI's pricing page says of Plus and Business, and gives no figure. It says nothing about a week on Pro, but Codex records one there: on my machine every Pro reading carried a 10,080-minute window. Each five-hour window draws on the week, so once the week is spent a fresh window does not help: you wait for the weekly reset. Enterprise and Edu on flexible pricing "have no fixed rate limits. Usage scales with credits"; without it, they get the same per-seat limits as Plus.

How to check your Codex usage limit

  • The usage dashboard, chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage: current limits and reset times for the whole account.
  • /status in a Codex CLI session: the model, approval policy and current token usage; OpenAI's pricing page points to it for your remaining limits.
  • /usage: account token usage, with daily, weekly or cumulative, and a menu to "redeem an available earned reset".
  • /statusline puts rate limits in the footer so they stay in view.

Each of these sees one account, and none keeps a history of the windows. A workspace's admin side, on Business and Enterprise: Codex analytics for a team.

What one machine's windows recorded

Codex writes its windows into every session file: each token_count record carries a rate_limits block with the window length in minutes, how much is used and when it resets. On 14 October 2026, 94 of the 220 transcripts in my ~/.codex carried one, across a move from Plus to Pro.

100%
the Plus five-hour window, 11 September
40%
the highest Plus weekly reading
100%
the Pro weekly window, 22 September
  • Plus, 27 August to 18 September: 1,477 readings, each with a 300-minute and a 10,080-minute window. The five-hour window filled once; the week never passed 40%. On Plus the short window is the one you meet.
  • Pro, 18 September to 13 October: 15,828 readings, each with one 10,080-minute window and no five-hour window at all. Codex records the plan as prolite. With nothing to slow a long day down, the week filled four days after the switch.

One heavy user on one machine is not a benchmark; it shows how the two shapes behave, not how many messages your plan gets.

What to do at the limit

  • A turn already running "will be able to continue working on that turn, subject to fair use limits".
  • Wait for the reset the dashboard shows, or redeem an earned reset from /usage if your account has one.
  • Buy credits or upgrade: Pro removes the five-hour window, not the week.
  • Switch the CLI to an API key: OpenAI then bills your Platform account per token at standard API rates.
  • Carry on in another agent. In Caprock, Continue in… starts a new Claude Code, OpenCode or Gemini CLI session in the same folder, with a summary of the last one as its first message — which you read and edit before anything is sent — or a session on another of your Codex accounts.

Codex limits next to Claude's, in Caprock

Caprock is a free desktop app that records every Codex and Claude Code session on the machine, whether or not it started them. It reads Codex's windows from the transcripts in ~/.codex — no hook, nothing written into Codex's config — and shows them on the Plan limits panel under Codex's name, beside Claude's, with the time Codex wrote them. A window your plan does not have says "not reported by Codex" rather than showing a number.

  • When one is near its limit, the panel says when it resets and how much the other agent has left: "Claude is near its limit… or switch to Codex — its weekly window is at 8%."
  • Several Codex sign-ins sit side by side in Settings → Subscriptions, each with its own five-hour and weekly windows. Near 90% of a window, the New agent picker says so and offers an account with room; running sessions never move. Three per agent are free, your own sign-in included.
  • The figure is as old as the last Codex session. Codex writes its windows into its transcripts, not to a live feed, so with no session running the reading can be hours old; the "as of" time says so.

The free, built-in answer is /status and the dashboard, and if you run one Codex account and nothing else, they are enough. Caprock is for when Codex is one of several agents or accounts, and you want every limit, and what each session cost at list price, in one record on your machine. Install Caprock.

Questions people ask

Does Codex have a 5-hour limit?
On ChatGPT Plus and Business, yes: OpenAI turned it back on for Plus on 25 August 2026 after several weeks without it. ChatGPT Pro has no five-hour limit; the weekly limit still applies.
How many messages do I get with Codex on ChatGPT Plus?
OpenAI estimates local messages per five hours by model: 5–45 on GPT-6 Astra, 15–160 on GPT-6.1 Sol and 350–3,000 on GPT-6 Luna. It says these are not fixed message limits.
When does the Codex usage limit reset?
Each window has its own reset time. The usage dashboard at chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage shows it for the five-hour window and the week; Codex also writes it into each session file.
Does Codex have a weekly limit?
On Plus and Business, OpenAI says weekly limits may also apply, without a figure; on Pro, Codex records a seven-day window too. Each five-hour window draws on the week, so a fresh window does not help once the week is spent.
How do I check my Codex usage?
Run /status in a Codex CLI session, or open the usage dashboard. /usage shows token usage by day, week or in total and can redeem an earned reset.

Sources